The Magazine

Previews of upcoming events, Race & Rally Reports, News, Reviews, Letters and Regulation Information from Historic Motor Racing News.

These stories are all from the pages of Historic Motor Racing News.  Some have been abbreviated for this web site.  If you'd like to receive the full version, go to Subscribe where you will find postal subscriptions available.  A full subscription also entitles you to access the current issue online (available soon), so you can take it with you and read it anywhere, and we are working on providing full access to our archives of back issues exclusively for our subscribers.  Those who subscribe online are automatically given access to our bulletin board area.


One of the highlights when this year’s Festival of Porsche returns to Brands Hatch will be a special 70th anniversary race for all Porsche cars built between 1953 and 1973.  Supported by Porsche Cars GB, which is running a 1965 911 SWB in historic events throughout 2018 in conjunction with its four Classic Partner Centres, the race will take place on the Indy Circuit on September 2, showcasing the marque’s exceptional sporting pedigree.

Although an airfield-based circuit was used earlier, it was in March 1968 that Thruxton in Hampshire opened as a permanent racetrack.  The layout remains unchanged half a century later, making it one of the UK’s fastest tracks.  The circuit will celebrate its 50th anniversary on 2-3 June with a two-day race meeting that will include appearances by former Thruxton pilots and demos of cars and bikes of historic significance, including the ex-Keke Rosberg Williams FW08C Grand Prix car.  The Thruxton Centre – the circuit’s new, £2 million hospitality facility – will be officially opened at 12:00 noon on Sunday by former World Champion, Nigel Mansell alongside his lifelong friend and motorsport commentator and journalist, Murray Walker.


To commemorate its 80th anniversary Prescott will celebrate with a special reunion of former hill record holders.  The very first meeting was held at the Gloucestershire hillclimb venue on April 10th 1938 and on July 14 the celebration will gather together as many former hill record holders as possible, with the list of those who have confirmed attendance reading like a Who’s Who of Hillclimbing.  1960s pacesetter and multiple Hillclimb champion David Boshier-Jones, Martyn Griffiths, David Grace, David Franklin, Alister Douglas-Osborn, Chris Cramer, who plans to compete in the 1985 British Hillclimb Championship winning Gould 84G, and six-time Hillclimb champion Scott Moran, also competing in his Gould, the most winning car in British Hillclimb history, are all on the guest list.  Lady record holders will also be well represented with Joy Rainey, Margaret Blankstone-Schoiber, Sandra Tomlin and Sue Young attending.  The latter two will be competing in their modern single seater Pilbeam and Gould respectively.  Many of the racers will be re-united with suitable cars from their era, either for a parade or for full-on competition.  The event will feature a strong field of 150 cars on track, including a special class for Bugattis.

Historic Motor Racing News © 2016
Designed by Software Major
Cron Job Starts