Winter Marathon

HOME » Magazine » » » Winter Marathon

Andrea Belome and Massimo Be nsoli took a slender 8-point win

Andrea Belometti and Massimo Bettinsoli won the Winter Marathon 2020 driving a 1937 Fiat 508 C.  The crew from team Brescia Corse remained amongst the top positions over the many Dolomite passes on 23-24 January, beating the young crew of Edoardo Bellini and Roberto Tiberti in a similar Fiat, by eight penalty points.  Third place went to Guido Barcella and Roberto Ghidotti in a Porsche 356 C Coupe, some 90 points down on the two leaders.

Guido Barcella and Roberto Ghidotti’s Porsche 356

As is the tradition a final test was held on the frozen lake in Madonna di Campiglio with two trophies up for grabs.   The Blizz Timing Trophy for pre-war cars went to Vincenzo Bertoli and Alberto Gamba in yet another Fiat 508 C, while the Eberhard Trophy (and watch) for which only the first 32 classified Winter Marathon crews are eligible, went to Edoardo Bellini and Roberto Tiberti.  In a final that had to be repeated because two cars finished on identical times on the first attempt, the race victory went some way to compensate the pair for their loss of the overall lead in the Marathon.

Second overall and ice race winners Edoardo Bellini and Roberto Tiber 

These stories are all from the pages of Historic Motor Racing News.  Some have been abbreviated for this web site.  If you'd like to receive the full version, please visit our subscription page where you will find postal subscriptions available.  A full subscription also entitles you to access the current issue online (available soon), so you can take it with you and read it anywhere, and we are working on providing full access to our archives of back issues exclusively for our subscribers.