Ulster Historic Rally

HOME » Magazine » » » Ulster Historic Rally

Two weeks after their Cork 20 win, Trevor Wilson and Paul Mulholland claimed victory in the Historic Category of the Ulster Rally, by almost four minutes.  Ford Escort Mk2 driver Mulholland recorded fastest times on all but one of the ten stages, in a field of just nine historic competitors, to take his third win of the season ahead of both David Armstrong and John Adams.

Trevor Wilson and Paul Mulholland claimed victory by almost four minutes

Duncan Williams and Guy Weaver had already claimed the Irish championship title pre-Ulster, but failing to make it through the opening stage in Newry after they were beached on a grass verge, was far from what they had wanted for the final.

Harold Bunting and Dessie Wilson may have been the sole entry in the pre-1968 class but the weather brought in by Storm Betty still provided a challenge for the Morris Mini Copper S crew, considering 34 cars didn’t make it to the finish! Photos William Neill

In a dominant class H2 win Fabian McAleer and Steven Monaghan headed long-time BMW 2002 campaigner Malcolm Pedlow and Billy Regan. 

These stories are all from the pages of Historic Motor Racing News.  Some have been abbreviated for this web site.  If you'd like to receive the full version, please visit our subscription page where you will find postal subscriptions available.  A full subscription also entitles you to access the current issue online (available soon), so you can take it with you and read it anywhere, and we are working on providing full access to our archives of back issues exclusively for our subscribers.