National Swedish Historic Racing Championship Finale Falkenberg Classic

HOME » Magazine » » » National Swedish Historic Racing Championship Finale Falkenberg Classic

For almost 20 years, Racerhistoriska Cupen (RHK National Historic Championship) and Sportvagnsmästerskapet (Sportscar Championship) have run a joint final race meeting at Falkenberg, and this year’s edition gathered over 200 starters in lovely late summer weather for some great racing.  Bengt-Åce Gustavsson sent us this report…

As usual Formula Vee was the largest field, with cars divided into categories B and C.  The B group was first out, with Rasmus Bencsik on pole ahead of Magnus Rugsveen and Thomas Lundström.  This trio battled hard for the lead in the first race, until Rugsveen suddenly spun, not once, but twice.  “My clutch broke so it was not possible to shift gears.  After the second spin I drove the rest of the race in fourth gear.”  On the penultimate lap, leader Bencsik caught up with two drivers he was supposed to lap, but they were busy fighting for their own positions.  In trying to get past, Bencsik touched and spun, bringing out a red flag.  Bencsik was considered to be at fault for the accident and was excluded from the results, handing victory to Lundström ahead of Fredrik Häger and Mats Andersson. 

Photos Bengt-Åce Gustavsson / Racefoto

With Bencsik  starting the second race from the back Lundström took the lead, but already on the first lap Rugsveen took over.  Lundström tried to answer, but he never really got close enough to make a move.  The  second race was also red flagged after a crash on the penultimate lap!  Rugsveen won by only 0.3sec ahead of Lundström.  Bencsik worked his way up to third.  After a great season, Lundström was pronounced 2023 Formula Vee Category B Champion

National Formula Champion and RHK’s overall 2023 Champion Nicklas Nilsson

In the C class, Pontus Bencsik took pole ahead of Jan Lindqvist and Johan Lund, the first two running in a close group with Stefan Nilsson and swapping the lead.  Behind them fought another group, with Lund, Richard “Lillen” Persson, Lars Ohlsson, Tommy Johansson and Simon Lindholm.  Bencsik fell back at the end and Lindqvist just managed to squeeze past Nilsson over the finish line.  However, the clerk of the course thought Lindqvist’s move was a little too aggressive and handed him a penalty.  Nilsson was declared winner and Lindqvist held on to second ahead of Bencsik.  Nilsson took the lead in the second race only to spin it away under pressure from Lindqvist and Bencsik, who finished in that order ahead of Persson.  Though Lund had his worst race weekend of the year with two fourth places, it was still enough to make him Class C Champion.

Bo Warmenius drove his Ford Escort RS to the Saloon Car title

Henry Sandblom took pole in the Formula Ford race, but it was Nicklas Nilsson who made a great start and took the lead.  Sandblom pressed Nilsson all the way, but never got past.  “It was hard today, I had to concentrate 100% because Sandblom didn’t give me a quiet moment,” commented Nilsson.  Peter Carlsson came third.  In the second race, Sandblom again started from pole, but this time he got off to a better start.  Now it was Nilsson trying everything to get past Sandblom, who repaid the favour and held him off  to the end.  Nilsson took enough points to win the National Championship for formula cars ahead of Johan Lund and Sandblom.  Nilsson was also crowned RHK’s overall 2023 champion.

For a report of the other races on the programme, see our November 2023 issue

These stories are all from the pages of Historic Motor Racing News.  Some have been abbreviated for this web site.  If you'd like to receive the full version, please visit our subscription page where you will find postal subscriptions available.  A full subscription also entitles you to access the current issue online (available soon), so you can take it with you and read it anywhere, and we are working on providing full access to our archives of back issues exclusively for our subscribers.