HSCC Silverstone Finals

HOME » Magazine » » » HSCC Silverstone Finals

Harrison wins on Historic FF2000 debut

Photo finishes coloured the HSCC Finals weekend at a cold and sunny Silverstone.  Marcus Pye was trackside..

Running experimental Hoosier tyres – as opposed to the discontinued Avons – on 1979 Formula Ford 2000 Euroseries champion Adrian Reynard’s spare Canadian Club Reynard SF79, Samuel Harrison enhanced his impressive CV by winning his first race in the Pinto-powered slicks and wings class at the HSCC’s Championship Finals at Silverstone on 14-15 October.

Photos Eric Sawyer

With Historic Formula Ford and 1000cc F3 titles to his name, the 19-year-old Yorkshireman’s apparently effortless style belies his speed – until the timing beam is cut.  With minimal mileage in the Reynard under his belt Harrison was a challenging third exiting the Becketts hairpin when Ollie Roberts squeezed runaway champion Graham Fennymore left on the Wellington Straight.

A clash bent Fennymore’s wishbone making right handed bends a struggle Photo Jeff Bloxham

A clash bent Fennymore’s wishbone, making right handed bends a struggle, while Roberts spun across the track and retired with a puncture.  “I was so lucky he didn’t hit me,” said Harrison, who calmly progressed to the chequer, clear of the disgruntled Fennymore and Marc Mercer.  Reynards filled the top six places, Adrian himself amongst them.  Jordan Harrison, unrelated to Samuel, won the early class in his Lola T580.

Sunday’s sequel was stopped when Richard Coleman’s engine deposited its oil at Becketts on lap one, causing multiple spins but little damage.  Fennymore duly netted his 11th win from 14 rounds, with Samuel Harrison 0.699s behind, stuck in fourth gear.  Mercer completed the podium, with Ben Glasswell (Reynard), Ian Pearson (Royale RP30) and Jordan Harrison, now on Hoosiers, behind him.

Neil Glover, accelerating savagely towards 160mph on the Wellington Straight, won both Aurora Trophy with Classic F3 races in his F5000 Chevron B37

FF1600 provided the closest races, although the destiny of both titles was already decided.  Callum Grant (Merlyn), now a triple Historic champ like Benn Simms (Jomo) pipped the latter to win the trophy Simms donated in memory of father Paul.  “Racing with Benn is always mega, the trophy made it extra special,” said Grant.  Matt Wrigley (Merlyn) survived an airborne moment at Copse on Saturday to grab third on Sunday, Chris Porritt (Titan) landed bronze the previous day.

After the stops, Ben Tusting hounded down the Chevron B8s of Dan Balfour, then leader David Forsbrey to win the Guards Trophy race

In Historic F3, Michael O’Brien drove the ex-Peter Westbury Brabham BT21B in which Samuel Harrison was invincible in the previous 10 rounds, and completed its clean sweep to take home the imposing trophy presented in memory of his mother Julia.  

O’Brien also won the rear-engined Formula Junior races in Nick Fennell’s Lotus 27.  Saturday saw another monocoque chassis finish second, Cam Jackson having hurtled through the pack first time out in his de Tomaso 63, with Sam Wilson, enjoying his Cooper T59.

For a full report of all the races at the meeting, see our November 2023 issue…

These stories are all from the pages of Historic Motor Racing News.  Some have been abbreviated for this web site.  If you'd like to receive the full version, please visit our subscription page where you will find postal subscriptions available.  A full subscription also entitles you to access the current issue online (available soon), so you can take it with you and read it anywhere, and we are working on providing full access to our archives of back issues exclusively for our subscribers.