Close and exciting racing settled the HSCC Championships over the weekend of 16-17 October on the Silverstone National circuit at the Club’s Finals Meeting.  Some championships had been decided at Mallory Park in September (see report this issue), while many others were still up for grabs.  Jordan Harrison secured the overall Classic Formula Ford title by winning once more in his Lola T540E despite the best efforts of Ben Tinkler and Henry Chart.

Will Plant went to Silverstone in need of another overall race win to make certain of the 70s Road Sports title and that’s just what he accomplished in his Morgan Plus 8, romping away as his father Richard played a supporting role, while Andy Newall rounded out his Guards Trophy title-winning season with another victory in his Chevron B6.  Three races for Historic Formula Ford decided the championship and it was Cam Jackson who took a third title in his Winkelmann after three hard fought races.  New Historic Touring Car champion is Mike Gardiner.

Another strong grid of Historic Formula Ford 2000s produced two great races and two wins for Graham Fennymore, but it was never easy for the new, 2021 champion, as Benn Simms and Tom Smith, who was guesting in Graham Ridgway’s car, chased hard.